The Clubhouse Part 1: The Vision

Everything worth doing starts with a vision. In this case, it was the lifelong dream of building a dedicated Dungeons & Dragons room. Finally I had my chance. A basement renovation was on the way and I wasn’t going to let this opportunity slip. The overall gaming room design had to serve a number of key purposes. While overall look and interior design was important, the room must also be pragmatic for roleplaying games. Therefore it was decided that the key ingredients for the room were;

  1. The room must be large enough to accommodate 8 to 10 players (plus 1 Dungeon Master);
  2. It must feel like a tavern or place where adventurers would meet while being flexible enough for me to resell my home (eventually);
  3. It must have the ability to play music and tracks via a PC or iPhone; and;
  4. The ability to house a customized lighting solution.

IMG_1737

Number 1 on the list soon resulted in a problem in itself. If the room were to fit 8 to 10 players, then it needed a table that could do the same. If one estimates that a person requires about 2 feet of table space, this means that table needed to be at least 6′ x 4′. This method of estimating table size is really meant for eating, but as we know D&D requires quite a bit more space. In addition, the table also needed to fit a 4′ x 6′ Chessex grid map. This in turn dictated that the table should be about  6′ x 8′ to accommodate the table and allow players to have some space in front of them. After a few weeks of searching for a table that size, I came to the realization that the task was impossible. No one makes tables that big and if they did, it would be more than $3000. Not a price I wanted to pay by any stretch of the imagination. Even the infamous Sultan Gaming Table by Geek Chic doesn’t get that big and I certainly wasn’t going to pay $20,000 for a table!

So basically it dawned on me that I had to make my own table. I have never done anything like this before … but whatever it was, I had to get the table done for at most $500.

Leave a Reply

